Hello, guys!

My name is Ross, commonly known as taralej around here. I'm a veteran WoW (2004) and Warmane (2010) player. On this server I am known as the author of the Combat Rogue guides (you can check them in my profile signature) and an active member at the Rogue section.

The purpose of this thread is to teach you the basics of making a nice, reader-friendly guide. As MoP has been released recently, I feel like this is the perfect time to share my experience and knowledge with you on this exact topic.

Contents
1. A Guide's purpose
2. DOs and DON'Ts
3. Hyperlinks
4. Formatting
5. Advanced
6. Conclusion

Disclaimer: * will be used in the 3. and 4. section for technical reasons. Simply omit it when following the instructions.

1. A Guide's purpose
This one is going to be short. A guide serves to shed light; to guide the newbies and refresh the veterans. It also serves as a beacon, a rendezvous for any player interested in the topic of the guide, be it for learning or just for discussions. These are the thoughts that should be on your mind constantly while writing your guide.

2. DOs and DON'Ts
Over the course of time (approx since my birth, in 1990), the Internet has proven itself as the world's biggest bragging scene. Many people forget what a guide is made for and who it is aimed at, and instead turn it into an e-peen contest of knowledge about a bunch of pixels.
2.1) A Guide should be aimed at other people. Not you. Probably the only place where you can mention yourself in a guide is the start, as a point of credibility.
2.2) A Guide should be readable. This means it should not have long walls of text, but it should not be cut down and scattered either. It should not be plain and "dry", but it should not be as bright as NYC's Christmas tree either. It should be a pleasure for the eye to read.