1. MM or BM?

Right now I have a i473 BM hunter. It's going pretty well(around 55k on dummies is that low?) I'm still pretty new to it anyway, was wondering if MM is better then BM and if so, what kind of stat priorties does it have.

Also is there a particular pet I need for BM to increase DPS like how it was in WoTLK? Any additional tips would be well recommended as I have only ever played Tankadins and Warlocks.

I am also aware that stampede does not work at all, but that is the only one I am 100% aware of.

2. Statistically speaking, MM is the only viable arena spec for Hunters on Retail in this patch. Survival can also work doing healer/hunter, but MM is stronger.

The stat priority hunters use are
    hit cap>expertise cap(should be easy to get from gear, even after reforging expertise into crit)>crit>haste>mastery

Sadly, expertise doesn't even work here, and I recall missing many times, even though I'm hit capped.

You can try out maxing hit and seeing if you are still missing. I haven't played on my hunter in quite some time sadly (fire mage so fun :3) so not sure if hit is still bugged or not. If you are missing on targets while hit capped then the stat priority here is:

crit>haste>mastery

You would like to use an exotic pet for BM. I would aim for a pet with a CC ability, like a shale spider, since all pets can now go into ferocity. As for IF your pet should be ferocity is another question altogether. In arena environments, Roar of Sacrifice is king. Only Cunning pets can get this ability though. However Cunning pets don't do as much damage as Ferocity, and BM kind of needs that damage. This is why most top hunters didn't play as BM, but rather MM, as they could take a CC pet, spec it into Cunning, have RoS, and not lose much damage.

Hope that helps!

Edit: Err, I thought this was PvP. if its for PvE, then I got no clue :D.