1. Is Holy Priest not viable?

I've been doing pretty good playing holy priest in heroics, but I'm also a veteran holy priest player. On the chance that I **** up in a heroic because I'm being a dick looking at my Spotify instead of healing a DPS that is being targeted, I've been accosted for being holy instead of disc. I know disc is pretty good this expansion, but I've only enjoyed doing it in pvp, not pve.

14 years ago during OG WoTLK, I played holy priest into heroic ICC. I remember having disc priests in our team, but I don't remember how well I did compared to them. So going into Warmane, I assumed that holy priest was still viable.

Ultimately I just want to ask; does holy priest hold a candle to disc? Some people in these random heroics seem to think I'm an ***** for choosing holy priest, as if it's the obvious choice is disc.

2. Holy Priest depends on the proper use of 'Surge of Light' which is bugged on Warmane, as it is not triggered by prayer of mending here.

Even on blizz disc shield spam was just broken OP. But it's so boring, I prefered holy anyway, because it was still viable at least. Not on Warmane though.
    Edited: April 29, 2022

3. May 13, 2022  
    The holy priests kit is nearly identical to rdruid, and people love rdruids.
    Wild growth = CoH
    Rejuv = Renew
    Nourish = Flashheal
    Tranq = Divine Hymn
    This is already like 70-90% of what you're casting while raiding .

But it goes on:
    Healing Touch = Greater Heal
    NS = GA (big emergency heal)
    Inspiration = Healing received (One doesn't stack with Rshamans, one doesn't stack with Protpallys, you should have both in the raid anyways)
    Hymn of Hope = Innervate (I'd give this to innervate because of the shorter cooldown, but priest also has shadow fiend for himself so it's equal)

Now where they go apart:
    Lifebloom, Regrowth vs PoH, PoM - so Rdruids lean more towards tank healing while Hpriests have yet more AoE spells.