1. Am I doing something wrong?

K so to start off Im new to this. Sure I played wrath way back when it dropped but I was a kid then and barely remember anything. Point is im starting to wonder if im doing things wrong or something.

So like I said im new and just hit 80 not too long ago. Figured I would maybe try and idk, gear up and do some raids at some point. Thing is, everyone I have come across is just geared to the teeth. Like I dont think I have found anyone not decked out who isnt leveling. Which has me wondering if Im just missing something. Of course this isnt the only thing. Im a tank, or atleast I am trying to be one. I mean, you have to be it seems. I would be waiting like 3 hours and not find a dungeon queued as damage. I say trying, because a couple times now I will get a group for a heroic, get going, then have one or two people die. Not even a full wipe sometimes, just some again decked the hell out dps out nuking my threat so I cant keep aggro. Half wipe and the whole group will just crumble. Literally had one guy just say, "you cant tank with what you have" and then just leave. A dps no less. Dude was probably waiting 4 hours, had one group member die to a bad pull, and just dip. Group fell apart after. Again, not even a one off thing.

So I thought, idk maybe just do regulars. But my lord even as a tank I was waiting two and a half hours and still couldnt find a group yesterday. Just gave up and logged out after that. So theres like no way I could get geared waiting that much. I just... dont get it? Is there some gear catch up mechanic im missing? Or do I just have to pay people to not quit soon as they realize im a fresh tank trying his best.