1. In BGs I get matched with insanely geared players

Hi all! I started playing on Warmane, Icecrown server a few days ago. What I like most are BGs, so when I hit level 80 with my rogue I joined my first BG. For the first day, it was awesome: low waiting time, 3-5 minutes, and WSG all the time. After the first day, I got almost 60k honor and bought my first Wrathful piece of gear, a cloak, 278 gs. Now my gs is 3050.
    When I joined the next BG it was EoS. People around me on both sides were from the Blackrock server, some with 5.5k gs, some with 6k, but almost no one was below 5k, maybe a couple of players.
    So, now as a rogue with barely over 3k gs, with some items even being cloth and giving me intellect (no one in the raid needed it so I took it for stamina), and weapons from quests - I am completely useless. I have 14k health and see a paladin with 35k health rushing my way, I just vanish and run.

My question is am I doing something wrong, or if this is a feature, are there any tips? This way it's 9vs10 for my team and I can only hope to steal a base in stealth or get carried in BG.

2. Buying one (1) piece of wf gear puts you in the higher bracket. It's tough but you will survive. Or not.

3. That is a dumb idea. Why would 1 piece of gear put me in a higher tier if I'm overall undergeared? Someone told me to buy Furious main spec and Relentless/Wrathful off spec, and PVE weapons, so I thought to myself why not first buy the more expensive item so that I don't have to grind 60k honor in the future? So far it's better for me to hide in stealth than to do anything because I just keep dying.