Introduction

The original guide was made by me on AT forum in August 2013. Since that time the page of it was opened almost 100k times. My guide became the most viewed Cata AT guide ever made and even one of the most viewed guides on the whole AT forum. I decided to port it to Warmane forum with some updates and additions. Made this guide for those players who want to learn how to play ret paladin on Cata. I've been playing ret paladin on Cataclysm since 2010 (retail, some private servers). I know everything (or atleast almost everything) about rets on Cata, so if you still have any question after this guide, feel free to ask me. In this topic I want to share my experience with the beginners.

General info about Retribution spec on Cataclysm

Ret paladin is strong on Cata. We have not that big tunnel damage, but our burst is awesome. Don't forget that your Wings and Bubble still can be dispelled, you should take care about them.

There are some Ret Cataclysm changes:
  • We've got a new resource called "Holy Power". We're getting it from our Crusader Strikes and wasting it for Templar's Verdict / Word of Glory. Templar's Verdict is the most damaging Rets ability, so if you are using Word of Glory you will lose some damage.
  • Word of Glory is a new instant heal. Sometimes it becomes crazy, maybe even OP. It didn't have CD so many people were QQing about it on Blizzards forums and they decided to add a 20 seconds cooldown (10 seconds with Selfless Healer talent).
  • We've got two more burst abilities called "Zealotry" and "Guardian of the Ancient Kings". The first one improves Holy Power gaining and the second one gives you crazy amount of Strength.
  • We've got an interrupt-ability called "Rebuke" with 10 seconds cooldown.

Talents

My main build
Spoiler: Show

This one is my current main build on Warsong. Divinity helps a lot in double dps 2s comps.

Exorcism build